Sweet Potato and Jalapeno Walnut Samosas

Standard

These were my first try at making samosas (my friend Nar introduced me to them and I was sold!)  My friend Carrie likes to call them “tater pillows”!  The combination of the creamy sweet potato, the spicy jalapeno, the rich coconut milk and the crunchy walnuts  will make your mouth very happy!

Ingredients:

Won Ton wrappers (I used Nasoya brand) or empanada rounds/discs that have been cut in half (Goya is good)

Filling:

2 medium sweet potatoes peeled and cut into chunks

1 large jalapeno, minced (you can add more if you like more heat, but one added a good bit of flavor)

1/2 cup coconut milk

2 tablespoons curry powder

1 tablespoon grated fresh ginger

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon sweet paprika

1/4 cup walnut broken walnut pieces

Salt to taste

Oil for frying (use a good, light oil such as sunflower oil, sesame oil or something similar)

Directions:

In a large pot, boil water and add potatoes.  Cook till fork tender.  Drain and let cool (do not rinse with water as the potatoes will absorb it and become mushy).

Mash potatoes after they are cooled.  Add all ingredients except the wrappers and oil (duh!)

For each samosa, lay out a wrapper, place about 1-1 1/2 teaspoon full of the filling on it (the empanada discs will hold a bit more than the won ton wrappers), moisten the edges of the wrapper all the way around with water then fold, pressing with your fingertips or with the tines of a fork to ensure a good closure.  You don’t want your filling smooshing out when you fry them!

Heat your oil (preferably in a deep fryer as the samosas come out better when they can be submerged and float) on med-high heat.  Test the readiness by dropping a pinch of the wrapper into it.  If it sizzles and floats, it’s ready!  Drop your samosas in one by one, and don’t over-crowd them.  You want them to have plenty of room to get golden brown.  Turn each of them a few times, and once they are done (this will only take about a minute really), remove them with a slotted spoon to drain on paper towels.  Continue till all are done.

This amount of filling will make about 24-36 samosas.

In the picture I’ve included, I am showing both my Sweet Potato samosas (the triangles) as well as my Garlicky Yukon Gold with Sweet Peas samosas (the round ones).  I will be working on some dipping sauces to go with them both soon!

 

*Note*  Using the won ton wrappers WILL NOT be 100% vegan, as they have egg whites in the ingredients.  Ooopsie!  I will search out egg-free wrappers for my next batch!

About Karma Cooking

I am Pagan and vegan since January 2012. While I am a huge animal lover, my choice to do away with meat, dairy and eggs had more to do with my health than anything. It's a choice I feel good about all the way around. I am studying to become a nutritional consultant and being vegan just meshes with that perfectly!

Leave a Reply

